Can I be vegan or vegetarian while on The Eczema Diet?

linseeds are vegan and good for eczema

Yes. Vegetarians and vegans don’t have to eat animal products while following The Eczema Diet – you can have vegetarian protein two or three times daily and combine beans/lentils with grains to make a complete protein.

Vegan foods that are eczema-friendly:

  • Red or brown lentils (all types)
  • Beans (most types but not broad beans as they are rich in salicylates). 
  • Canned beans (rinsed)
  • Chickpeas
  • Linseeds
  • Green beans
  • Dried split peas (not fresh peas as they contain natural MSG)

If you are not sensitive to any type of nuts, raw cashews can be eaten from week 4 (Stage 1 food, but caution is recommended). If you have an undiagnosed sensitivity to cashew nuts, eating them during the diet could affect your results. 

Vegan supplements while following The Eczema Diet

Buy Skin Friend

If you are vegetarian or vegan and have eczema, it's important to consume eczema-friendly sources of vitamin B12 and other B vitamins as a deficiency can worsen eczema and lead to anaemia. The vegan supplements we recommend at the Eczema Life Clinic are Skin Friend as it contains your B vitamins and other ingredients that promote the healing and repair of the skin. Other key nutrients to keep an eye on while following a vegan diet are Omega-3, vitamin D, and Iron. Vitamin D and Iron may not need to be supplemented unless they are low, and some rich sources of omega-3 can be found in chia seeds, borage oil, and flaxseed oil. 



Buy The Eczema Diet >>

Buy the eczema diet


Buy Skin Friend >>

Buy Skin Friend